top of page

Zenadth Kes ⋒

We honour the late Athe Bernard Namok Snr & the Namok pamleh for their contribution to the Torres Strait Islander community.

The Torres Strait Islander flag was designed by the late Bernard Namok Snr., as a winning entry in a design competition, which was held as part of a Cultural Revival Workshop in 1992. The competition was run by the then Island Coordinating Council, representing the community councils in the Torres Strait.

The flag represents our unique region and culture, and stands for the unity and identity of all Torres Strait Islanders;

🟢 The two green lines represent the land,

🔵 The blue between is the sea,

⚫ The black lines represent our communities - the people of the Torres Strait,

⚪ White represent peace,

⭐ The central symbol of the Dhari (headdress) with the five-pointed star represents the five island clusters of the Torres Strait as well as our history of sea-faring navigation.

In 1992 the flag was also recognised by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC) and given equal prominence with the Australian Aboriginal Flag. The Australian Government recognised the Torres Strait Islander Flag as an official 'Flag of Australia' under the Flags Act 1953 (Cth), by proclamation on 14 July 1995.

[ - FB Page]

Pic 1 & 2 by @mookaiphotography

Pic 3 & 4 Blak Protests on Yirriganydji & Gimuy Wallubarra Yidinji Land

6 views0 comments


bottom of page